Clarence Central School District

Together We Make Learning A Way Of Life

 Welcome!
 
"There are many little ways to enlarge your child's world.
Love of books is the best of all."
~Jacqueline Kennedy
 
 
Services are delivered in small group settings in our classrooms several days a week. It is our intent, that with this extra support, students will improve in reading as well as in the content area activities. The program provides systematic instruction in small flexible groups. Classroom and support services are coordinated with the teacher so that individual needs are met.
 
 
Students receiving Reading Support Services are actively engaged in reading and writing lessons that enable them to become more strategic and successful.  Within a small group setting, the children read a variety of fiction and non-fiction texts at their appropriate reading levels.  They are given opportunities to discuss what they have read and to respond in writing. 
 
Research shows that there are essential components of reading that children must be taught in order for them to learn to read.
  • Phonemic Awareness
  • Phonics
  • Word Analysis
  • Comprehension
  • Fluency
  • Vocabulary
Children learn to be good readers by systematically practicing these components.
Practice in these areas can bring about dramatic improvements.
 
 
Children are encouraged to read at home on a daily basis. They become better readers when receiving support both in school and at home.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Name  
 Building Contact
Mrs. Laura Boeing  
 
 
 Harris Hill
LBoeing@clarenceschools.org
Ms. Donna Ghodbane  
 
 
 Ledgeview  
DGhodbane@clarenceschools.org
Dr. Gretchen Greenman  
 
 Harris Hill
GGreenman@clarenceschools.org
Mrs. Sarah Guagliardi
 
 
 
 Sheridan Hill
SGuagliardi@clarenceschools.org
Mrs. Kathleen Montesanti     
 
 Clarence Center
KMontesanti@clarenceschools.org
Mrs. Kari Webster
 
 
Clarence Center/Sheridan Hill
KWebster@clarenceschools.org



 
 
CLOSE