•  Welcome!
     
    "There are many little ways to enlarge your child's world.
    Love of books is the best of all."
    ~Jacqueline Kennedy
     
     

    Services are delivered in small group settings in our classrooms several days a week. It is our intent, that with this extra support, students will improve in reading as well as in the content area activities. The program provides systematic instruction in small flexible groups. Classroom and support services are coordinated with the teacher so that individual needs are met.

     
     
     
    Students receiving Reading Support Services are actively engaged in reading and writing lessons that enable them to become more strategic and successful.  Within a small group setting, the children read a variety of fiction and non-fiction texts at their appropriate reading levels.  They are given opportunities to discuss what they have read and to respond in writing. 
     
    Research shows that there are essential components of reading that children must be taught in order for them to learn to read.
    • Phonemic Awareness
    • Phonics
    • Word Analysis
    • Comprehension
    • Fluency
    • Vocabulary
    Children learn to be good readers by systematically practicing these components.
    Practice in these areas can bring about dramatic improvements.
     
     
    Children are encouraged to read at home on a daily basis. They become better readers when receiving support both in school and at home.
     
     
     
     
     
     
     Name    Building  Contact
    Kimberly Anderson Sheridan Hill kanderson@clarenceschools.org
         
         
    Gretchen Greenman Harris Hill ggreenman@clarenceschools.org
    Sarah Guagliardi  Ledgeview sguagliardi@clarenceschools.org
    Kathleen Montesanti Clarence Center kmontesanti@clarenceschools.org
    Janine Papili Harris Hill / Ledgeview jpapili@clarenceschools.org
    Kelly Turpin Ledgeview kturpin@clarenceschools.org
    Kari Webster Clarence Center, Sheridan Hill kwebster@clarenceschools.org