Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Special Education Office

As a department, our primary goal is to support all students to help them to have a positive and successful school experience.  Some students require an individualized education program (IEP) for this support if they are classified as a student with an educational disability.  This plan will meet the educational needs of the student with a disability and describe the services that the student is entitled to from the school district.  In order to determine if a student is in need of additional services, a referral to the Committee on Special Education (CSE) is required.  A parent/guardian needs to make a request for referral to this committee in writing and submit it to the Office of Special Education. 
 
MaryJo Dunkle Headshot

Mary Jo Dunkle
Interim Director of Special Education & Pupil Personnel Services​​​​​​mdunkle@clarenceschools.org
(716)407-9105

 

 


Director of Special Education Elementary (K-5)
 
(716)407-9105
Ann Logel
Interim Director of Special Education Secondary (6-12)
alogel@clarenceschools.org
(716)407-9105
 Luann Holland
Administrative Assistant to CPSE (preschool)
lholland@clarenceschools.org
(716)407-9104
Lauren Whelan
Administrative Assistant of CSE (school-aged)
lwhelan@clarenceschools.org
(716)407-9104
Carrie (Caroline)O'Brien
Administrative Assistant of Special Education Finances 
cobrien@clarenceschools.org
(716)407-9105
 

Brittany DiStefano, M.S. Ed, BCBA
Behavior Specialist
bdistefano@clarenceschools.org
(716)407-9122

Christine Berry, Ph.D.

cberry@clarenceschools.org
(716)407-9122

A letter requesting a referral to the Committee on Special Education should include: 

  • Student's name
  • Student's date of birth
  • reference to area(s) of concern that may be evaluated

Student Support Services available beyond the regular, comprehensive educational program are:

  • Psychological Services
  • Special Education Instruction
  • Speech/Language Therapy Services
  • Occupational & Physical Therapy Services
  • Social Emotional & Counseling Services