Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Speech and Language

Clarence Middle and High School
Amy Ratajczak, MA, CCC/SLP
aratajczak@clarenceschools.org

 


Clarence Center Elementary
Marisa Mancuso, MS, CCC/SLP
mmancuso@clarenceschools.org
 

Harris Hill Elementary
Gretchen Burden, MS, CCC/SLP
gburden@clarenceschools.org
 
Sara Magnuszewski, MS. CCC/SLP
smagnuszewski@clarenceschools.org
 
Ledgeview Elementary
Jody Marshall, MS, CCC-SLP
jmarshall@clarenceschools.org
 

Sheridan Hill Elementary
Jennifer Rose-Burton, MA, CCC/SLP
jrose-burton@clarenceschools.org
 
Sara Kreher, MA, CCC-SLP
skreher@clarenceschools.org
 
Kamrie Gademske, MS, CCC-SLP
kgademske@clarenceschools.org

Good language skills are essential to school success. 

Language is the foundation that enables us to learn and acquire new skills.
 

Speech and language therapy services are available to:

  • Students in grades K-12 who are recommended by the Committee for Special Education (CSE).
  • Short-term remediation for recommended students who do not qualify under CSE ~ under the RtI (Responsiveness to Intervention) Model
Therapy can be delivered within the classroom or as a pull-out, in the therapy room.  Services are given in small groups of no more than 5 students. Individual sessions are provided when appropriate. Sessions typically last 30 minutes.  Please be assured that therapy sessions are scheduled around the students' classroom schedules.

SPEECH-LANGUAGE SKILLS THE STUDENTS MAY BE WORKING ON:

  • Auditory processing
  • Auditory memory
  • Listening comprehension
  • Phonological awareness (rhyming, blending and segmenting of sounds etc.)
  • Understanding spoken language
  • Expressive language (grammar, word order in sentences, describing, organization of thoughts)
  • Concepts and vocabulary
  • Categorization skills
  • Antonyms and synonyms
  • Idioms and metaphors
  • Conversational skills
  • Critical thinking and problem solving
  • Voice (pitch, quality, loudness)
  • Fluency
  • Speech production (pronouncing sounds)
  • Alternative and augmentative communication